Skip to main content

Our most recent (2013) external review report said, “Graduate students of GMB are excellent by any criteria.  They are enthusiastic, successful, collaborative, and strongly positive about the program.”  The report also notes the excellent publication record and other achievement of our students.  The pages listed on the menu at left detail GMB students’ publications, awards, and other achievements, as well as a description of program requirements (including detailed written policies, as they become available) and useful resources.

Our students go on to productive and prestigious careers in diverse fields related to research. Please see the BBSP Alumni Careers Outcomes page for more information (be sure the select the Curriculum in Genetics and Molecular Biology PhD program).

 Current GMB Students

Name Contact Info Advisor(s)
Elizabeth Abrash abrashe@email.unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Cyril Anyetei-Anum caanum@live.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Oscar Arroyo oarroyoj@email.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Nicole Arruda narruda@email.unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Daniel Babaki dbabaki@unc.edu

Kevin Weeks

Ana Berglind berglind@unc.edu

Shehzad Sheikh

Sam Boyson sboyson@unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Erica Branham erica.branham@unc.edu

Sarah Linnstead

Jackie Brinkman jbrink@email.unc.edu

John P. Morris, IV

Sarah Brotman sbrotman@email.unc.edu

Karen Mohlke

Grant Broussard gsbrou@email.unc.edu

Blossom Damania

Nolan Brown njbrown@email.unc.edu

Dorothy Erie

Aaron Chack chack1@email.unc.edu

Chad Pecot

Yogitha Chareddy yogitha@live.unc.edu

Chad Pecot

Meng Cheng meng93@email.unc.edu

Al Baldwin

Rachel Cherney rcherney@email.unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Lilly Chiou lfc15@live.unc.edu

Cyrus Vaziri

Jonathan Cohen jonathan_cohen@med.unc.edu

Jason Whitmire

Adriana Coke acoke@unc.edu

Bob Goldstein & Christina Burch

Sean Connelly sean_connelly@med.unc.edu

Jon Juliano

Aaron Crain acrain@unc.edu

Bob Duronio

Marta Cruz Cisneros mcruzcis@email.unc.edu

Mark Heise and Marty Ferris

Ian Curtin iancurtin@unc.edu

Jason Stein

Evan Drage edrage@unc.edu

Daniel Matute & Amy Gladfelter

Gaith Droby gdroby@unc.edu

Cyrus Vaziri

Rachel DuMez rdumez@live.unc.edu

Rob Dowen

Sharon Edmiston edmiston@email.unc.edu

Nancy Thomas

Alyssa Edwards aedwards2@unc.edu

Dale Ramsden

Kevin Field kevin_field@med.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Geoffrey Fox gfox@unc.edu

Jill Dowen & Brian Strahl

Caroline Settle Fraser csfraser@live.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Mark Geisler mgeisler@email.unc.edu

Bob Duronio

Gabrielle Gentile gmarieg@med.unc.edu

Jimena Giudici

Riya Gohil riyogohil@unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Yiran Guo guoyr@live.unc.edu

Greg Wang

Brian Gural bgural@email.unc.edu

Christoph Rau

Kira Heikes kglynn@email.unc.edu

Bob Goldstein

Emma Hinkle emhinkle@email.unc.edu

Jimena Giudice

Sean Johnson seanjohn@email.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Fred Koitz fkoitz@unc.edu

Kacy Gordon

Daniel Kolbin kolbin@live.unc.edu

Kerry Bloom

Benjamin Kornegay bkornegay@unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Sarah Lester slester@unc.edu

Samir Kelada and Karen Mohlke

Rami Major ramim@live.unc.edu

Mark Zylka

Marielle Bond marielle_bond@med.unc.edu

Doug Phanstiel
Hyejung Won

Jessica McAfee jcmcafee@email.unc.edu

Hyejung Won

Jeanne-Marie McPherson jemcpher@live.unc.edu

Bob Duronio
Dan McKay

Sonja Mihailovic

Jeremy Purvis

Brandon Mouery blm5494@live.unc.edu

Jean Cook

Ryan Mouery rmouery@live.unc.edu

Mike Emanuele

McKenzie Murvin mmurvin@live.unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Mohamed A. Nasr nasr@email.unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky

Jayna Nicholas jnicholas@unc.edu

Laura Raffield and Karen Mohlke

Matt Niederhuber mniederhuber@unc.edu

Dan McKay

Victoria Parsons vparsons@live.unc.edu

Karen Mohlke

Nila Pazhayam npazhay@live.unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky

Gabriella Quickstad gquick@email.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Natalie Rittenhouse nrittenhouse@unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Jack Sanford jsan4d@email.unc.edu

Yanping Zhang

Priscila Santa Rosa prisr@email.unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky and Bob Duronio

Nisitha Sengottuvel nisitha@med.unc.edu

Chad Pecot

Yibo Si yibosi@email.unc.edu

Henrik Dohlman

Noor Singh noor1@email.unc.edu

Kacy Gordon

Matt Stevenson stevensn@email.unc.edu

Lori O'Brien

Alexis Stutzman astutzman@unc.edu

Dan McKay
Jill Dowen

Eliza Thulson eann@email.unc.edu

Doug Phanstiel

Carolyn Turcotte carolyn.turcotte@unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky

Kylie VanDerMolen kylie_vandermolen@unc.edu

Rob Dowen

Tamara Vital tvital@email.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Elyssa Vogt ellysa@live.unc.edu

Amy Gladfelter

Ying Wang ying.wang@unc.edu

Pengda Liu

Isurika Weerasinghe iweerasinghe@unc.edu

Charles Perou

Chloe Whitworth chloe_whitworth@med.unc.edu

William Polacheck & Victoria Bautch

Hannah Wiedner hwiedner@email.unc.edu

Jimena Giudice

Jingyu Zhao zjy@email.unc.edu

Sam Lai