Skip to main content

Our most recent (2013) external review report said, “Graduate students of GMB are excellent by any criteria.  They are enthusiastic, successful, collaborative, and strongly positive about the program.”  The report also notes the excellent publication record and other achievement of our students.  The pages listed on the menu at left detail GMB students’ publications, awards, and other achievements, as well as a description of program requirements (including detailed written policies, as they become available) and useful resources.

Our students go on to productive and prestigious careers in diverse fields related to research. Please see the BBSP Alumni Careers Outcomes page for more information (be sure the select the Curriculum in Genetics and Molecular Biology PhD program).

 Current GMB Students

Name Contact Info Advisor(s)
Cyril Anyetei-Anum caanum@live.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Nicole Arruda narruda@email.unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Ana Berglind berglind@unc.edu

Shehzad Sheikh

Sarah Brotman sbrotman@email.unc.edu

Karen Mohlke

Grant Broussard gsbrou@email.unc.edu

Blossom Damania

Nolan Brown njbrown@email.unc.edu

Dorothy Erie

Gary Cantor gcantor@email.unc.edu

Bill Marzluff

Juan Carvajal Garcia jcarvaja@email.unc.edu

Dale Ramsden
Jeff Sekelsky

Yogitha Chareddy yogitha@live.unc.edu

Chad Pecot

Meng Cheng meng93@email.unc.edu

Yue Xiong

Rachel Cherney rcherney@email.unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Lilly Chiou lfc15@live.unc.edu

Cyrus Vaziri

Aaron Crain acrain@unc.edu

Bob Duronio

Marta Cruz Cisneros mcruzcis@email.unc.edu

Mark Heise

Clark Cunningham Clark_Cunningham@med.unc.edu

Jonathan Juliano

Nate Diehl Nate_Diehl@med.unc.edu

Channing Der

Lauren Donoghue ldonoghu@email.unc.edu

Samir Kelada

Gaith Droby gdroby@unc.edu

Cyrus Vaziri

Rachel DuMez rdumez@live.unc.edu

Rob Dowen

Kevin Field kevin_field@med.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Caroline Settle Fraser csfraser@live.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Gabrielle Gentile gmarieg@med.unc.edu

Jimena Giudici

Phil Grayeski philip_grayeski@med.unc.edu

Kevin Weeks

Yiran Guo guoyr@live.unc.edu

Greg Wang

Brea Hampton hamptb10@email.unc.edu

Mark Heise

Patrick Havlik havlik@email.unc.edu

Aravind Asokan

Kira Heikes kglynn@email.unc.edu

Bob Goldstein

Austin Hepperla hepperla@email.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Emma Hinkle emhinkle@email.unc.edu

Jimena Giudice

Charlie Hodgens hodgens@email.unc.edu

Joe Kieber

Michelle Hoffner michhoff@email.unc.edu

Shehzad Sheikh

Alison Homstad ahomstad@email.unc.edu

Folami Ideraabdullah

Lance Jubic lance23@email.unc.edu

Jeff Dangl

Megan Justice megannj@email.unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Daniel Kolbin kolbin@live.unc.edu

Kerry Bloom

Rashmi Kumar rashmi_kumar@med.unc.edu

Gaorav Gupta

Jie Li jie1991@email.unc.edu

Greg Wang

Megan Luedeman megan15@email.unc.edu

Dale Ramsden

Rami Major ramim@live.unc.edu

Mark Zylka

Jeanne-Marie McPherson jemcpher@live.unc.edu

Bob Duronio
Dan McKay

Rita Meganck rmeganck@email.unc.edu

Aravind Asokan
Bill Marzluff

Katie Metz ksmetz@email.unc.edu

Doug Phanstiel

James Meyo jameyo@email.unc.edu

Dirk Dittmer

Sonja Mihailovic

Jeremy Purvis

Brandon Mouery blm5494@live.unc.edu

Jean Cook

Ryan Mouery rmouery@live.unc.edu

Mike Emanuele

McKenzie Murvin mmurvin@live.unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Adele Musicant adelem@email.unc.edu

Tony Amelio

Matt Niederhuber mniederhuber@unc.edu

Dan McKay

Spencer Nystrom snystrom@ad.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Victoria Parsons vparsons@live.unc.edu

Karen Mohlke

Nila Pazhayam npazhay@live.unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky

Kia Perez-Vale kiakia@email.unc.edu

Mark Peifer

Hannah Perrin hjperrin@email.unc.edu

Karen Mohlke

Michelle Potter-Birriel jpotter2@email.unc.edu

Bill Marzluff

Natalie Rittenhouse nrittenhouse@unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Ricardo Rivera-Soto rivera21@email.unc.edu

Blossom Damania

Jack Sanford jsan4d@email.unc.edu

Yanping Zhang

Nisitha Sengottuvel nisitha@med.unc.edu

Chad Pecot

Matt Stevenson stevensn@email.unc.edu

Lori O'Brien

Alexis Stutzman astutzman@unc.edu

Dan McKay
Jill Dowen

Kandace Thomas kandacet@email.unc.edu

Mike Bressan

Eliza Thulson eann@email.unc.edu

Doug Phanstiel

Adelaide Tovar edialeda@email.unc.edu

Samir Kelada

Carolyn Turcotte carolyn.turcotte@unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky

Chris Uyehara cuyehara@email.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Courtney Vaughn Courtney_Vaughn@med.unc.edu

Aziz Sancar

Tamara Vital tvital@email.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Elyssa Vogt ellysa@live.unc.edu

Amy Gladfelter

Ying Wang ying.wang@unc.edu

Pengda Liu

Rebecca Watkins rebekahw@email.unc.edu

Jenny Ting

Hannah Wiedner hwiedner@email.unc.edu

Jimena Giudice

Josh Wooten wootenjs@email.unc.edu

Juan Song

Meng Zou mengzou@email.unc.edu

Chris Mack