Our most recent (2013) external review report said, “Graduate students of GMB are excellent by any criteria.  They are enthusiastic, successful, collaborative, and strongly positive about the program.”  The report also notes the excellent publication record and other achievement of our students.  The pages listed on the menu at left detail GMB students’ publications, awards, and other achievements, as well as a description of program requirements (including detailed written policies, as they become available) and useful resources.

Our students go on to productive and prestigious careers in diverse fields related to research. Please see the BBSP Alumni Careers Outcomes page for more information (be sure the select the Curriculum in Genetics and Molecular Biology PhD program).

 Current GMB Students

Name Contact Info Advisor(s)
Anthony Arceci aarceci@email.unc.edu

Mike Emanuele

Robin Armstrong rarmst02@email.unc.edu

Bob Duronio

Salma Azam sazam@email.unc.edu

Chad Pecot

Rowan Beck rfbeck@email.unc.edu

Mirek Styblo
Praveen Sethupathy

Sarah Brnich sarah_brnich@med.unc.edu

Jonathan Berg

Nolan Brown njbrown@email.unc.edu

Eric Brustad

Gary Cantor gcantor@email.unc.edu

Bill Marzluff

Juan Carvajal Garcia jcarvaja@email.unc.edu

Dale Ramsden
Jeff Sekelsky

Philip Coryell pcoryell@email.unc.edu

Jeremy Purvis

Clark Cunningham Clark_Cunningham@med.unc.edu

Jonathan Juliano

Nate Diehl Nate_Diehl@med.unc.edu

Channing Der

Julia DiFiore difiore@email.unc.edu

Brian Strahl

Tim Dinh timothy_dinh@med.unc.edu

Praveen Sethupathy

Lauren Donoghue ldonoghu@email.unc.edu

Samir Kelada

Phil Grayeski philip_grayeski@med.unc.edu

Kevin Weeks

Brea Hampton hamptb10@email.unc.edu

Mark Heise

Michaelyn Hartmann m4hart@email.unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky

Talia Hatkevich hatkevic@email.unc.edu

Jeff Sekelsky

Patrick Havlik havlik@email.unc.edu

Aravind Asokan

Kathryn Headley kmheadle@email.unc.edu

Nate Hathaway

Kira Heikes kglynn@email.unc.edu

Bob Goldstein

Austin Hepperla hepperla@email.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Charlie Hodgens hodgens@email.unc.edu

Joe Kieber

Michelle Hoffner michhoff@email.unc.edu

Shehzad Sheikh

Alison Homstad ahomstad@email.unc.edu

Folami Ideraabdullah

Lance Jubic lance23@email.unc.edu

Jeff Dangl

Megan Justice megannj@email.unc.edu

Jill Dowen

Rashmi Kumar rashmi_kumar@med.unc.edu

Gaorav Gupta

Luke Laudermilk laudermi@email.unc.edu

Samir Kelada

David Lee davidlee@email.unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Jie Li jie1991@email.unc.edu

Greg Wang

Jie-yu Liu jieyu529@email.unc.edu

Ned Sharpless

Kendall Lough klough@email.unc.edu

Scott Williams

Megan Luedeman megan15@email.unc.edu

Dale Ramsden

Vicki Madigan vmadigan@email.unc.edu

Aravind Asokan

Rita Meganck rmeganck@email.unc.edu

Aravind Asokan
Bill Marzluff

Katie Metz ksmetz@email.unc.edu

Doug Phanstiel

James Meyo jameyo@email.unc.edu

Dirk Dittmer

Adele Musicant adelem@email.unc.edu

Tony Amelio

Dean Nehama dean_nehama@med.unc.edu

Barbara Savoldo

Matt Niederhuber mniederhuber@unc.edu

Dan McKay

Spencer Nystrom snystrom@ad.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Kia Perez-Vale kiakia@email.unc.edu

Mark Peifer

Hannah Perrin hjperrin@email.unc.edu

Karen Mohlke

Michelle Potter-Birriel jpotter2@email.unc.edu

Bill Marzluff

Amanda Raimer acraimer@email.unc.edu

Greg Matera

Ricardo Rivera-Soto rivera21@email.unc.edu

Blossom Damania

Megan Schertzer schertze@email.unc.edu

Mauro Calabrese

Casey Schmidt schmidca@emai.unc.edu

Greg Matera

Aleisha Smith aleishas@email.unc.edu

Billy Kim

Matt Tegowski tegowski@email.unc.edu

Al Baldwin

Kandace Thomas kandacet@email.unc.edu

Mike Bressan

Adelaide Tovar edialeda@email.unc.edu

Samir Kelada

Claire Trincot trincot@email.unc.edu

Kathleen Caron

Chris Uyehara cuyehara@email.unc.edu

Dan McKay

Courtney Vaughn Courtney_Vaughn@med.unc.edu

Aziz Sancar

Patricia Vignaux vignaux@email.unc.edu

Nate Hathaway

Tamara Vital tvital@email.unc.edu

Ian Davis

Rebecca Watkins rebekahw@email.unc.edu

Jenny Ting

Josh Wooten wootenjs@email.unc.edu

Juan Song

Meng Zou mengzou@email.unc.edu

Chris Mack